New to the game - laptop specs

Hi all,

I am new to the game (i.e. just ran the tutorial) - and the game seems a bit sluggish. This is my current setup:

Intel Core i7-8565U (8MB Cache, 1.8GHz), 16GB LPDDR3-SDRAM, 512GB SSD
35.6 cm (14") 4K Ultra HD 3840 x 2160 IPS, Intel UHD Graphics 620,

I also have an 1920x1200 external display I can use.

What do you suggest I use as settings to make it run nicely?

Thanks a lot!

what is this ?

Low end integrated gpu

there you go then , with 4k and resolution like that , hmmm… :slight_smile:

1920x1080 resolution is your 1st step regardless of screen used.
Shadows low or off
Texture med
Shaders med
Post proc low/off
Ctrl+F brings ingame FPS window aim for 30.

And the game itself can be perceived as “sluggish” or “unresponsive” because server processes user inputs at set intervals (once per second). This is done to mitigate advantage of some users who live closer to the server and have lower ping/latency against those who live in the upside-down world.

The low frequency has nothing to do with fairness. It´s about reducing the amount of calculations the server has to deal with.

One doesn’t exclude the other. And it doesnt change the fact that game can appear sluggish for new players, no matter the reason.

Except that the low tick rate coupled with a high ping rather results in a disadvantage than an advantage.

Also you said:

As in you point out that it is specifically done for fairness reasons, which a) is not the case (as mentioned above) and b) if it would have any positive effect it would merely be a sideeffect and not intentional.

Also why is it so hard for ppl just to admit that they are wrong and need to turn a tiny little correction into a discussion with BS arguments, just in order to not have to say: “OK, I stand corrected”?

There is no shame in admitting to be wrong, just take it as an opportunity to learn something.

… per second.

But actually it’s the other way round.
It’s the same with frame rate.