Player Forward Operating Bases

Greetings New Eden! In response to the Quantum Cores update, I’ve decided to bring the conversation of Small Upwells back to the table. Just some quick background: I’ve been playing EVE since 2009, have done lowsec piracy/FW, lived in NPC null as well as sov null, and have done small and micro gang WH stuff for the past 6 years. I’m in a small/tiny corp.

Since these quantum cores will make it harder for entry-level projects on small or new corps, a Small Upwell is in order. Such a structure has been hinted at in the past by CCP in Keynotes. Enter the Player Forward Operating Base! Perhaps we’ll call it the Corporate Depot instead, though I’m sure the clever engineers in the Upwell Consortium/CCP will think of an appropriate name for it.

What would a Player FOB do that our current smallest structures, an Astrahus or Raitaru, doesn’t? Well to start with, they should be cheaper and more expendable after the Quantum Core changes, but also less defensible and with far fewer features. Here’s what I had in mind:

*Standard tether functionality

*Standard anchoring timers, vulnerability windows, and unanchor times (for consistency and counter-attacks)

*Either no reinforcement timers or a single, 24 hour reinforcement window when Armor is depleted. These are sticks in the sand, not sandcastles.

*Small personal item hangar space (1,000 m3 to 2,000 m3), similar to an expanded depot

*Small corp Ship Maintenance Array, able to hold 5 or so Medium hulls or a wider array of smaller ships. Shared space prevents storing extra ships on many alts.

*No or limited docking; the Corp SMA will store ships. Personal hangar spaces in docks open up the possibility of easy infinite storage space, which is to be avoided in such a small structure.

*No service modules. These are not intended for industry or as a large main base.

*No damage caps, as these are not bulwarks and should be more easily destructible than Mediums.