Praxis vs. Faction Battleship

Hello everyone,

I’m new to the game and want to get into battleships. I am in Amarr space, and observed that the Amarr battleships are like 300 millions and the Praxis at 170 millions. Is there a reason for the almost double price for the Amarr battleships? Does the Praxis work for pve in Hi-sec??? Wich one do I need to buy?

Thanks all in advance

it depends on what you want to do with it

1 Like

Well, I’m doing lvl 3 missions and some sites but want to be able to do some escalations also.

Praxis is cheaper than regular t1 because it’s given for free during events (and maybe requires less minerals to build idk)…

If you are limited by isk, get the praxis, it’s a swiss army knife ship and you can fit it in many different ways depending on the task you want it to do. It also doesn’t require BS lvl5 to get max hull bonuses.
If not limited by isk/ sp… dedicated ships for different missions, dedicated DED running ship depending on npc type you shoot.

3 Likes

you need BS only when doing ded 5/10 escalations. For all other combat exploration around hisec use cruiser. You do lvl 4 missions in BS

For lvl3 missions use battlecruiser. BS is too slow and have hard time hitting small targets. Lvl 3 missions are still mostly frigates, destroyers and cruisers. In praxis you will waste huge amount of time in warp and you won’t apply to target most of that paper (paper dps = shown in fitting window) DPS on targets.

Also, don’t fly BS unless you have all hull related and support skills (both for gunnery/missiles and fitting) to at lest lvl 3-4. Just because you can sit in hull doesn’t mean you should fly it.

3 Likes

Thank you all for the replies. So I guess I will go with a Absolution, long-range sniper. This is what i have, but i had some problems running SOME lvl 3 missions so i dont really know what am I doing wrong

It’s either bad fit or your piloting. You should have no issue with lvl 3 missions in simple t1 BC (Harbinger for Amarr).