Response to all the "anti-solo" players out there

As I browse these forums I see a lot of comments and opinions about how Eve was always intended to be a multiplayer game, if you are playing solo you are playing wrong, and similar comments.

Well if Eve was always meant to be a group / corp game then the marketers of the game back when I started playing in '06 or '07 (I cant remember ) did a horrible job selling the game. They sold the game as a sandbox, where you play however you want. They even mentioned solo play or “lone wolf” specifically as a valid play style.

If we were talking about other MMORPGs then yes I’d agree, its designed to funnel you into a group style play at some point. WoW dungeons are for five, Raid groups are 10 or 25, etc. However Eve is, and always was a different animal. That was what made it so attractive to me.

Of course group play is very valid and in a lot of ways likely easier. There are a ton of benefits and players who want to participate in group play should absolutely do so! However, solo play is very possible in Eve, to say otherwise is false in my opinion.

Solo play is more difficult, or at least, slower paced than fleet / group play. You have to defend yourself alone (or with delayed CONCORD) move your valuables without scouts, and in general watch your own back.

Importantly though,

–>solo players should not demand or expect the devs to cater the game to solo play styles, especially at the expense of group play styles.<–

If you’ve chosen to solo play then those the challenges you are taking on.

In summary, group play is certainly a great way to play eve, but solo play has been around since the beginning and is a valid, but challenging, play style as well.

28 Likes

Yes sir!!

Play solo all you want, just don’t expect to survive when a TEAM of other players attacks you.

Don’t expect the devs to create ships that do everything in one ship.