Returning player seeking direction, options and opportunities

I used to be a pod pilot like you until I took a laser burst to my neural interface.

Here’s the thing, I’ve returned to the game in the last week after having been away for over 3 years but my main was born over 11 years ago. Since 2006 I left and returned a few times but never left it as long as this time. The changes since 2014 have been significant to the point that I felt I had to create an alpha clone just to run through the (new) tutorial and career agents just to remind myself of how even the basics operate. Many of my ships have been substantially changed and I am in the process of trying to refit them. Some of them even seem hopelessly inappropriate now for the purposes I originally acquired them.

Back in the day I was in small corps where I ended up doing very little, just talking on comms. Industrial corps where you would mine for hours on end listening in on comms and reading a book. Huge RP corps where I discovered there are serously weird people in this world and even tried EVE Uni where I seemed to live in station all the time, forbidden to leave because of wardecs.

All of this ended up in frustration and my eventual protracted absence from the game.

Now I return and find an apparent buff to PVE, HiSec danger for miners and even NPCs with boosted AI. I feel I am at a crossroads. Do I drift back to the improved PVE and slowly lose my enthusiasm for the game again or do I give the game one last chance and try and seek out that holy grail I’ve been searching for since 2006, an active corp with a fantastic adult player community, ideally PVP based in low or null sec operating around the 17.00:22.00 UTC time frame although some days I’m available at any time.

Before I left last time I had skilled up for logistics in my Scimitar although god knows how far those skills are off these days even allowing for whether or not it is still a viable ship for roams.