Seek Your Destiny - Opportunities Feature

Awoke this morning to this fascinating gem on my launcher:

seek_your_destiny [link]

For those too lazy to follow the link, here’s another pretty picture, summarizing what the sparse article describes:

I have been playing EvE for around nine months now. I knew when I started, I would be in this for the long haul. Going fresh into a game which has had an active playerbase since 2003, I figured I would have to try at least a year before I would know what I was doing. I still have no clue what I am doing and I am seeing that is a natural reaction to this game.

Now it seems that a computer will impose its goals upon me, quite directly, and even heavier upon the unsuspecting new capsuleer. No longer will I be slowly tricked into submission with crafty wordplay-- now just: collect 10 bear asses, please.

Please stop right where you are, CCP. Please do not waste your time on this. Abort mission now before it’s too late. How much more useless can this be? How many bear-ass-gathering simulators do we need?

Speaking as a semi-new player, I loved the Agency and what was done with it. Why not capitalize on the Agency and give more lore-based reasons to hunt or gather? I enjoyed the tutorial being called “careers”, since I did play a bit as a younger kid back in 2012, where starting the game was even more confusing. This time around, I enjoyed being put through the career agent ride, even though I knew it was only a tutorial, because at least it made me feel like EvE was a place I could make into my own, with my own career-- one that I could name myself.

This? What the fck. Instead of starting a space career, new capsuleers will be starting their next big gig in gathering bear asses.

Could not find any other threads to discuss this.

5 Likes

sigh

Mr Epeen :sunglasses:

1 Like

I love collecting bear pelts.

2 Likes