Shield boosters need a boost

I’ve been playing this game since 2008. I don’t remember ever fitting a t2 shield booster, nor do I remember killing something that had a t2 shield booster. Just the other day I considered putting one on a Cyclone, and realized even with the bonus, the DPS it would be mitigating would be pathetic at best.

Does anyone else see this?

3 Likes

On a cyclone you’d probably want dual x-l shield boosters. Since it’s not really feasible to eat up all your cap with t2 boosters, you always go either xl ancil or 1 blingy pith x type xl sb
It’s just like why for lowsec frigs you don’t see t2 reppers, you simply get more burst tank out of an ancil

1 Like

That’s what I’m saying… There is always a better option than t2. Especially in pvp.

1 Like

What kind of buffs are you thinking about adding to them?

I think they need a big boost in raw rep amount. Countered with neuts, obviously.

Would like to see these forgotten modules released from the pve-only prison.

What kind of percentages do you have in mind?

One point that I’d worry about are with ships like the Breacher, Vagabond, and others that have a +% Shield Booster hull bonus already. On top of that, by just broadly buffing the amount repped, you’d start getting into weird areas where deadpsace Boosters like the really popular Gist X-Types get impacted as well.

1 Like

I mean, you see x-large shield boosters on battleships all the time, look at raven fits on zkill and usually they either have a t2 x-large or a pith x-large

edit: https://zkillboard.com/kill/76454670/ people even use them on cyclones

The performance gap between t2 and its rivals is just so huge that nobody in their right mind would ever consider using t2.