Shield recharge rate of my orca is 4500 secs - is this a problem?

I’m a solo miner. New orca is fitted as primary hauler (hi sec only) with secondary option of drone mining. Just discovered however that recharge time of my shields is 4500 seconds. That can’t be good, right?

Travel works well: 2.40 AU warp; 399 m/s speed + 10 sec align time with MWD; EHP of 272 k (306 k with adaptive on); cap stable. Mining also works reasonably well: 5 mining II drones gave 16 m3/sec - compared to 16.8 on retriever using 3 MLUs and T1 crystals.

Problem: was testing mining in 0.5 system and could not tank 3 NPCs; drop in shields was slow but real yet recharge afterwards was almost non-existent; how can I fix yet keep my travel / mining stats? Note: adaptive was NOT on during testing; could this module just be left on permanently? (I’m a noob; wouldn’t know.)

FIT:
Large Drone Mining Augmentor I
Large Transverse Bulkhead I
Large Hyperspatial Velocity Optimizer I

Improved Cloaking Device II
Drone Link Augmentor II
Small Tractor Beam II (offline)

500 MN Cold-Gas Enduring MWD
EM Ward Amp II
Thermal Dissipation Amp II
Kinetic Deflection Amp II
Adaptive Invulnerability Field II

Capacitor Power Relay II
Damage Control II

[Modelling suggests swapping out Velocity for Field Purger II would reduce recharge to 3375 secs.]

So what have you learned while training for an orca about the orca?

2 Likes

Not really. The time indicates how long the shield would take to recharge from 0 to full capacity. The shields constantly recharge at a rate indicated in the fitting window’s Defense section (change the Active Defense section in the top left in that section to Passive Shield Recharge).