The 1k items cap

Wouldn’t it be neat to have a one per character station vault where you can put more than 1k items at once.

Maybe make so you can extract from it once every arbitrary number of minutes and up to an arbitrary number of items at once.

Use station containers. Get like a t1 industrial and fit it for cargo hold and transport station cans where you need them. unpackaged they’re like 10km3 and my t1 industrial can hold 3 of them at a time. Just name them appropriately and keep your items organized.

Edit: Never use the t1 cargo hold expanded industrial to transport goods to the market though as their ehp will be easy for a single grouping of 1400s to break.

2 Likes

“1K ought to be enough for anybody”

3 Likes

Yeah… my cans upon cans of BPCs from way back yonder laugh in mass production

That makes no sense, either raise the cap or don’t.

I know, right?

Mr Epeen :sunglasses:

I have no knowledge of the technicalities behind having the item cap.

Because the lag we normally experience when dealing with big numbers of items at once I assume it’ll be less strain on the server to put a hard cap on how many stacks you can extract at once. Hence the maybe at the beginning of the sentence.

What’s in ‘The Dead’ ? You got a zombie apocalypse going on at your station ?

Victims of space violence.

2 Likes

Emergency food supply. Don’t forget the Soylent Green flavored Quafe to wash it down.

2 Likes

I find it very unlikely that anyone has ever hit the one thousand item cap.

Would be nice if the cap was moved up by a bit or two, even a byte. Going from 1024 to 32768 would help out substantially.

It’s quite easy to do, though tieracide has helped a lot to cut back on it.

Especially once you get into manufacturing, or loot a few dozen amar ships with used crystals or otherwise non-packaged items.

1 Like

Do you know how many bytes it would take to encode all that date, just for the 1 or 2 players who exceed the already excessively high cap?

1 Like