The old velator model

hello
when I started playing, one of the ships in eve that fascinated me was the velator, not because it was that good but because it was different, it was asymmetrical and I liked it allot as it was.

Until someone decided to completely redesign the ship.

I disagreed with the new design.
To me it had no lines that interested me at all.

And I still don’t.
But on top of that I start to realize this new shape looks more like a amarr design then a gallente.

Both amarr and gallente sport smooth lines.
But when you look closely you will notice that amarr uses sharper shapes and gallente more toward organic shapes.

amarr would be a basic circle compared to gallente being a random koffie spot on the table.

And that brings me back to the newly designed velator.
Why was it necessary to redesign it?
And why was it made so basic and non organic?

The shape wasn’t ugly for everyone… atleast not to me.

I assume you’re referring to this potato of a ship http://games.chruker.dk/eve_online/graphics/ids/2048/321_2009.jpg

And it was just brought in line with the other ships that were around at the time, the smaller gallente ships are less “blob” just look at the likes of the tristan from the same year http://games.chruker.dk/eve_online/graphics/ids/2048/60_2009.jpg

Outside of that, designs evolve and change, lots of the hulls have been modernised, that sjust the way it goes, i mean the look of the ship isn’t as important as the function of the ship, and i’ve lost a few ships to the CCP balance team

yes that potato of a ship

“i mean the look of the ship isn’t as important as the function of the ship”

for some people this is a game braking thing.
if not we can all agree to fly a cube or triangle.

imagine Spielberg changing a prop or a part of a story after its release.
all the fans will automatically agree as that’s how things go.

i totally agree with you that ships need to be modernised

we are not living in 2004 anymore

but