The Problem with New Pilots

I’m a new pilot. I started the game about 3 months ago, around Christmas. I was pretty involved my first few weeks, logging on and performing all of the activities that I could. I went through the tutorial, then did the career agents, and read a lot about how to do things. I had a Coercer, and I did the Sisters of EVE epic arc, losing my ship not once, but twice to the drones. I got some friends to help do the final missions, and then I started ratting because it was a fun and enjoyable activity for me. I did all of this in high-sec.
A couple of days ago, I started moving to low-sec because bounties are worth more there and because there are harder sites. Because I’m in Caldari space, I outrange most of the ships, so I could do an L3 combat site here and there. However, they are difficult and time-consuming. Most of the time I would do L2 combat sites.
In order to do these sites, I have to orbit to make it quick, preventing me from aligning to a station to warp out. As I was doing one of these sites, someone in a Loki fitted with weapons that were way overpowered for my ship. He landed on grid and destroyed my ship in about 20 seconds, webbing me so that I couldn’t leave. Thankfully, he was nice and I had a good conversation afterwards with him, teaching me some things.
One thing he said struck me as kind of odd. He said that if anyone else is in local then warp to a station or safe spot, or get a better ship. The thing is, I’ve never learned how to make a safe spot, and I don’t have time. As for warping to a station, most of the time that takes about 30 seconds for aligning.