The Storm Alpha Weekly

(Storm Musashi) #1

ZBeing a wholly new Alpha newbro, I’ve come to the point of trying the 20 ship challenge. My posts will be a weekly news cap, as my RL I sometimes can’t post daily. As part of my quest to become a better PVP pilot, and learn all I can about various ships, and tactics, I decided to limit my per frigate budget to 2M isk. I am also an Alpha nooB, and have not maxed my skill points yet.

So in reading suggestions on where to go, it seems that lowsec is the place for me. In Jita market, I purchased 12 frigates, and various equipment that I think I would need. My two types are the Merlin, and the Incursus. Making them scram kit fits with MWD.

My first night, went to Tama. I lost 3 ships to some very speedy high tech frigates, who conveniently were camping just inside the gate at a novice Plex. So much for 1v1 ! I soon found out what a Garmur and a Slicer were. They pointed me fast and at kiting range. Not knowing better, I tried heat my MWD and close range. No good, as they were too fast. At least I was able to get a target lock. Then they were through playing with their food, and after 3-4 volleys, ate through my defense and prodded me, sending my hapless clone back to Medical bay.

In reflecting back on the night, I learned a few things - these 2 ships are no joke! Try to get away. If can’t get away, turn the other way, and make them chase. I also learned that if you can’t close in, make them by fitting something like a TD. Then maybe I might have a chance to scram or web them!