For characters that cannot train, there should be no blinking even if the blinking option is toggled. The warning sign was replaced with a pause icon to indicate that that the character is not eligible to train (due to alpha restrictions, or other characters on the account training).
The blinking should happen if and only if the character is eligible to train and currently is not. The rationale is to remind players that may have overlooked their skill queue being completed.