What ships are the best for soldiers of fortune?

Im a new soldier of fortune from the ammar empire, and i wonder: what ship should I buy? Do i buy the ships with the soldier of fortune icon on the site (frigates), should I go with a destroyer, or maybe something completely different?

I’m a slightly old fogey, I assume “Soldier of Fortune” is the AIR path relating to heading towards Player v Player combat. I’m old enough to know that at some point in Eve you will end up fighting others.

So, if you’ve no experience against other players I’d seriously recommend “cheap” as a starting point. You will loose ships as you learn which fights to take and which to run from.

A frigate fitted with meta modules, things such as “enduring” or “compact” or “restrained” in their titles, is a good start. Keeps the losses down while you learn how to fight. As to exactly what ship and fittings? As you are Amarr I’d suggest a Punisher, or maybe a Tormentor - fit a buffer armour tank (rather than rely on a repairer) less to worry about.

Combat against other players is savagely violent compared to what you will have experienced against NPCs in the tutorials or in the missions. Nothing quite prepares you. I still get the shakes from it.

Remember: a player will attack you because they believe they can beat you.

I would also recommend finding a good new player friendly corporation to help you. There’s a lot of ones that exploit new players, so don’t worry about changing if they don’t fit your needs. But the good corps are good places.

3 Likes

Terak gives a lot of good advice.

I would like to add: if you’re putting yourself out there for PvP, do not get discouraged about losing ships. It will be a rough beginning. There will be a skill difference and the most noticeable will be the DPS difference (T2 guns and Racial Frigate V being most noticeable gap early on). Hence why the “cheap” suggestion is a good one.