When did the Drake jump the shark?

Nostalgia warning: So… I used to play EVE quite a bit back in the day (roughly 5-8 years ago). Back then, the Drake was the big bad tanky ship for running lvl 3-4 (if memory serves) missions. I’ve been back a few months now, and I see a lot of posts just joking about the Drake. Was it nerfed, or simply bypassed by better ships in the last few years? Just curious. Used to love my tanky Drake lol

1 Like

Heavy missiles were nerfed into the ground and then some. Over the past few years the Drake and heavy missiles clawed a bit back, but nothing compared to its former glory (or scourge).

1 Like

Ah ok thanks. Id not heard anything about heavy missiles being nerfed. Good to know it’s not the ship itself.

1 Like

Drake Navy Issue tanks at 80k hitpoints for me.

I started playing in 2009, and I remember the Drake being a dominant ship. Stuff that has changed for it since then:

• Heavy missiles were significantly nerfed; their DPS was lowered a lot (20% I think) and their application (explosion velocity/radius) was also nerfed. They now apply damage worse than HAMs, which are notorious for not being able to apply damage well.
  • Drake itself was also nerfed (not unique to it, this was mostly across the board on BCs):
    • Slightly reduced fittings and tank
    • Significantly reduced shield regen; “passive regen” Drake fits are a thing of the past
    • Greatly reduced speed / increased mass; Drake with MWD before: 1400-1500 m/s now: 1150 m/s
  • Drake got a tweaked high slot layout making it more dependent on kinetic damage (but do slightly more damage)
  • Like all other BCs, Drake now has access to fitting a Medium Micro Jump Drive
  • Like all other BCs, Drake can fit Shield Command Burst (or other command bursts) in its spare high slot