Why are there no Incentives to PvP in EVE?

I’ve been playing Eve for 1 month now. So, I’m very new at this game. However, I have played many other MMOs before and I understand them very well and what makes a game great.

Let me just first off say, I love Eve. This game has so many elements that I love, and even though I’m in the honeymoon phase of it, I can see myself playing this game for a very long time. The way the combat system works is fantastic. Yes, it was a little overwhelming in the beginning learning everything, but the more I learn how much you can do in this game, the more I fall in love with it. I’m also in a great corp now with some really fantastic guys.

I do however have one major complaint… And it’s really just eating me alive inside. I love PvP, always have in every game I played. The fact that when you die in Eve, you lose everything, adds a whole different dimension to PvP and I think that’s why it’s so special here. Getting in those heart thumping fights, having the jitters, not many games out there can get you going like Eve can with the risks involved when you step into Low sec or Null sec/wh space.

However, I’m struggling to find out where the real incentive is to PvP. So far in my first month of Eve, I’ve killed or been a part of killing 31 ships, and lost 25. Most of the time when me or me/buddies kill someone, the loot is hardly anything(less than 5-10mil). Only twice have I gotten a faction item actually worth something in PvP, whereas I’ve lost almost 1 bil in ships. Even the guys in my corp, who are incredible PvPers, admit that PvP is a money losing activity.