@ccp's UI designer

New ui improvments (since my 5 month break) look great. Keep up the good work.

buttkiss

14 Likes

I approve this message

2 Likes

I just want thank you for all this super hard work and excellent photoshop skills you put into this, its obvious there is no imperfections in it.

I’ve been playing Eve for about five years. In this time things have generally got better. And CCP deserver the credit for that.

Yes, there are times when I’ve got used to some strange bit of UI or game mechanic and it’s been fixed - causing a short moment of confusion. But that soon passes, and rationalising the game, reducing the complexity of interaction with it is important work.

And reducing the complexity of the UI is different to reducing the depth and complexity of the game. People often seem to confuse the two, but I know from comments within CCP that they really understand this.

Eve is an old game, there’s a lot of work done, visibly and in the underpinnings to keep it running, current and in line with new players expectations. But like keeping an old car running it’s hard work.

You don’t understand. This isn’t just a regular praise thread like from normal people. It’s a thread made by Naari Naarian, who knows best what’s best for the game. When he makes a thread praising something, then it is actually really meaningful praise.

1 Like

Hilmar will print this opening post and put it on the wall next to his bed so he gets all fuzzy and warm before he falls asleep.

1 Like

When is the next break?

3 Likes

While this is true, a large amount of the games complexity is not ui based. This is not good. The mastermind of eve was not very well founded in thought when the game was made. If it had been, it would of considered and thought about the over all effects of high graphics requirements and complexity.