Closed - Survey on the gender gap in EVE Online

My name is Lucas and I am a student of media communication and management. As part of my master thesis I am currently conducting a survey on the gender gap in EVE Online.

According to the senior strategist of CCP Games Development Infrastructure, women comprise about 10% of the entire player base in EVE Online.

The survey should take no longer than 5 minutes. The data collection is for scientific purposes only and your data will be treated confidentially.

You can find the google forms link here: Removed

Edit: After the elaborate feedback I have decided to remove and rework my survey. Thanks for your time

1 Like

Is that proposition based on prior research ?
Out of curiosity and genuine interest, how will you measure if and to what extent marketing is gender-based, and how do you define toxicity ?

2 Likes

Last I knew, EVE has one of the most detersive player bases in the MMO world? But my data is probably obsolete. I would hope some of the other females (not sure what to call a woman in todays politicly correct world is) will post on this subject.

Edit; Seemed a very skewed survey…

Not sure about that. My mother and sister could handle any male EVE player easily.

My mother is 88 now, and occasionally we do the odd 90 minutes of WoW. Nothing complex. Just spending time really.

Problem is: They’re just not into space ships. No way. When I showed them EVE a decade ago… basically no reaction. When I showed them my bloodelf female hunter… “omg, look at her, she’s soooo cute!”.

Stereotype? Not sure. My mother has been working on an IBM 650 (and a 1401 later) from the late 1950s into the 1960s. She’s not afraid of new technologies, got a mobile in the 1990s and a smartphone right when they were available. Every now and then she does the odd bit of shopping on the internet.