Female Player Base of Eve

Good morning,

I’ve spent some time thinking about and composing this post after comments made by a CSM representative in the General Feedback post for the latest update.

I’ve been playing Eve since 2007. In that time, as a female player, I’ve been subject to some discrimination. Granted, my good experiences have entirely outweighed the bad, but every now and then, there is one that sticks in my mind.

I know we are the minority in the game. That is made very clear by the tolerance of actions of male players though out the years. However, it is getting better. For that, I applaud CCP. There was a time when reports of harassment, abuse, and stalking went unnoticed. It’s not perfect, but I think growth is happening.

However, when I saw comments referring to the discord server the female player base of Eve have as a safe haven, I felt annoyed. I felt angry. And most of all, I felt belittled. ‘Girl’ in the way it was used came off in a very derogatory fashion, and I was not alone in these feelings, although few feel they can speak up.

I am aware I will face abuse for this post. I should not have that deep seated fear, but I do, and I find it extremely uncomfortable. Yet, I go into this with that awareness, however, I cannot and will not remain silent while a representative of the Eve community makes not just me, but other female players feel as if they aren’t as important. There are many safe spaces for the male players of this game. We have one, although after yesterday, it doesn’t feel so safe anymore.

I do not come here to bring up old conflicts between this CSM and others. I come here as someone who is looking at this from an outside perspective and taking a stand.

So, I ask the CSM for an apology on this tone and the implications made. I ask we be respected as a player base, and I ask this sort of thing not happen again by a CSM representative.

Thank you.

34 Likes