Corp Security Check

Hello. How can I check my applicants’ backgrounds with the new ESI system? I asked in help chat and they politely replied stating: an application has not yet been made public. I was just wondering then, how does a corp conduct security checks? Do I have to be a developer to have my own tools to do this? If I am not a developer, how then can I resolve this issue? Thanks for taking the time to read my question. Fly safe.

It is true that no such tool yet exists which is using ESI. However what you can do is: request an EVESkillBoard.com link which you can then use to check the character’s Corp history. Though you can already see that ingame.

As CEO or Officer in a Corporation you do not want undesirables, such as spies (very hard to detect), into your corp, so one way of finding out if the player has bad intentions is to look at it’s corp history it is however not much to go on and with Characters swapping owners it makes it even harder. With the XML API you could at least know the names on all characters on the players account, ESI is different in this aspect as you can only get info on the character that does the SSO (login).

Until someone creates and publishes a tool to do security checks you will just have to try and ask the Player for the info and trust that the information is the truth. Trust is the most valuable commodity in EVE and also the hardest thing to acquire. I’m sure you have heard about a few of the many stories about players who have infiltrated a Corp, with months of planning and pretending to be legitimate, only to backstab the corporation/a player by stealing assets, emptying Wallets, transferring structures etc.

No, you do not need to be a developer. Anyone can have tools by having them connected via the https://developers.eveonline.com/