CSM 15: Alexis Finch - Representing New Players in Nullsec

Who is Alexis Finch?

A nullsec player for many years, I’m someone who is always helping others. Answering questions, teaching new things. The first to X up to jump in a fax or a dread, no matter how long a fleet might be. I’ve played many aspects of EVE, but pvp is where my heart is. I want to make the excitement I have in pvp accessible to all players, without compromising the experience of veteran players.

Your EVE Online Story:
I started playing EVE Online in late 2016. I bounced around highsec, including making my own corporation, which lasted a month, before getting a message from a player by the name of Vexxas Tarokin. He asked me, “What are you doing? And what do you want to do?”. I talked with him for hours, and afterwards, I decided to join him and his corp in null security space. I learned many aspects of the game with that group. Including the importance of treating fellow pilots well, even enemies.

When we lost our space, I left the game for a while to clear my head. When I returned, the corp I was in was no more. So I did the only thing that felt reasonable. I joined a group that focused on building up new players. Brave Collective. I became an FC, and fell in love with the culture there. Since then I’ve grown from a new player with 100 million to my name, to a nullsec player with a titan, who can confidently run fleets of hundreds. But none of that progress made me forget where I came from. I went to nullsec early, and that made all of the difference.

Your areas of expertise. In which areas of the game do you feel you are the most knowledgeable? What qualities set you apart from other candidates?

I’m an experienced fleet commander, with skill in both subcapital, capital, and supercapital warfare.
One of the few players in legacy who regularly trains capital pilots, with the title, which I find quite amusing, “dreadnought drill sergeant”.