[Diary] Burning Down Hell

I’ve spent the night in Pochven four times this week. It’s not something I want to get used to doing. The unfortunate truth, however, is that having been part of the expedition where we stayed behind in Angymonne as the gates were cut, I’ve spent far more nights in Abyssal hell than I’d have preferred. At the same time, maybe it’s good that I’ve some experience being in this space; the conflict we’ve entered was inevitable.

The Triglavian sympathizers fought to destroy the homes of countless people in the systems they helped wrestle into the hands of the Collective, so we can’t give them peace in their twisted little paradise. To do so would dishonor the memories of those they murdered and betray those still suffering under Triglavian rule. It won’t be easy. These capsuleers are quite formidable. But it seems like the Lux band is back together for a reunion tour of Pochven.

It’s one of the situations I’m most familiar with, really. My career as a capsuleer has been made up of so many campaigns of many small groups trying to work together against formidable opponents. Many of us who are standing together in Pochven against the kybernauts have been in this style of conflict many before, in fact. As much of many of us who are shooting in the same direction at the moment might not get along in most contexts, we’ve got a lot of experienced and strong pilots on our side too. Though Wirashoda was bloody for both them and us, I suspect it’s just the beginning. I guess we’ll see.

For now, though, I’m just going to spend another night in Angymonne. My bedroom on this citadel has grown quite comfortable, really. It’s a byproduct of how much time I’ve spent here, I suppose. When you spend enough time somewhere, it’s almost like a piece of you remains there. I appreciate the irony of being sentimental about my own little room in hell.