Duels - Abuse of system

Now, i’m relatively new to the whole dueling scene but it seems there are so many ways to abuse it, some of which have been used against me. In my eyes these break duels and allow a player to cheat his way to a victory he otherwise wouldn’t have had.

One thing I have noticed more than anything else is people that dock up after realising they can’t win the fight - once accepting a duel if a longer range ship is kiting them it is a strategy to win the fight, and should be allowed. If your opponent hasn’t attacked he has the ability to dock up and switch ship and undock again - thus being fully repaired and possibly in a ship that wasn’t agreed on by the opponent when initiating the duel. In my opinion, a duel should indefinitely stop people from docking up.

A second area of abuse is the fact that the timer of the duel remains when one player is in a pod, although he can dock up. This means that that player has the remaining duel time to undock and engage for a second time, again with the opportunity to get into a bigger ship - where the enemy continues to have damage from the previous fight he won. The idea of a duel is to have a engagement limited between 2 people - a fair 1 versus 1 fight with agreed conditions when accepting the duel. A second ship isn’t specified there and shouldn’t be allowed in my opinion.

The third way to abuse the system seems to be used less, especially in larger hubs such as Jita as there is already a system put in place to avoid this - however I don’t think its enough. The use of logistics ships in a engagement that is supposed to be a 1 versus 1 shouldn’t be allowed period. It gives the person receiving the bonus’ a unfair advantage and if it was to be fixed i’d suggest making it so it simply doesn’t effect anyone in the duel. Let them use the buffs on them, but have it so it doesn’t affect them whatsoever.