EVE has Sound

WARNING: Turning on sound in EVE may make dogs bark, scare your parents, make cats panic, wake you roomate up in the middle of the night shouting at the top of their lungs because they think you are being robbed, or provoke the question ‘EVE has sound?’

3 Likes

EVE has sound? :astonished:

1 Like

I feel like this is a meme I’m not getting.

Not sure it actually has any specific meaning, just something players have said over the course of Eve’s history and continue to do so. Folks were saying this all the way back before I started playing around late 2009. Any time I ever asked about it I was given the same answer.

EVE has the sounds of guns, modules, warnings, and some spoken Aura messages during the tutorial, but unlike other games doesn’t have “flavor” sound, like the Fallout radio stations, or spoken announcements on those big screens, or spoken agent mission text, or verbal interactions like in Mass Effect. So, as a result, you can play the game just fine if you turn the sound off, and often it’s required, so you can hear voice-comms better and/or increase your frames-per-second during large fleet battles.

The meme indicates that people play this game better with its sound off.

As I understand it, sound used to cause significant problems to the point that some years back it was preferabe to play without sound enabled.

EVE without sound became a meme.

In todays EVE, World Sound is 0 by default (a legacy of the aformentioned problems) and every other day in Rookie Help someone asks why they can’t hear guns, warp sounds etc, and usually several people answer with ‘EVE has sound?’

… and so the meme continues. :slightly_smiling_face:

Definitely EVE plays better without sound interrupting your favorite moans. Em, I mean music.

1 Like