How to gain skill points as a new player?

So i just started playing . I wanted to buy a new ship but it seems i do not have required skills . When i queue for training it says it will take days . Is there a way to gain skills points faster ?
Thanks for the info,
Cheers,

If you’re Alpha you can buy Alpha Injectors.

You can also buy training implant enhancements, but you risk losing them when you get killed.

Otherwise, just wait. Rome wasn’t built in a day.

Implants, but they are expensive for a new player.
As are Skill Injectors.

A good guide to skills and training is at Skills and learning - EVE University Wiki

Out of curiosity, what ship is tempting you? One of the advantages of slower skill training is it gives you a chance to learn how life in New Eden works before you invest in a larger more expensive ship. Never put all you ISK into one expensive hull you could lose because of inexperience or to someone else who just wants “a laugh”.
Remember: you don’t get your things back in Eve when you are killed.

Eve is an odd game - a bigger, more expensive ship isn’t automatically better. All ships have their place and roles - and smaller, more affordable cheap ships are often a lot more fun because they are expendable.

4 Likes

A bit more blunt answer, skill points in EvE come with time, or $$$.

3 Likes

I’d add to that by saying that while $$$ can get you SP, it can’t get you experience.

6 Likes

If you are worried about skills taking days, this probably isn’t the game for you (unless of course you are a credit card warrior, then more power to ya). Drop a few bucks to buy plex to sell to get an LSI for 500k skillpoints…but that’s a slippery slope you’ll put yourself on because you’ll always want more.

1 Like

Don’t worry about.
Just grab a ship that is “close enough” and do stuff with it.
Every ship in the game relates to every other ship in some sense.

Examples: