macOS Catalina

Anyone tried running EVE on macOS Catalina? Does it still work?

I was unable to get the launcher to run.

Launcher loaded but the game doesn’t go past a black screen in both DX9 and 11 modes.

1 Like

I even can’t bring the 64bit client to run under macOS 10.14.6. Always are some binaries missing what prevents the clients to be started. I hope that will be fixed soon.

I am a developer and immediately upgraded to Catalina went it was first released in June. I have been unable to play Eve ever since. This is certainly not anything to fault CCP about. I was told by CCP in a ticket that they would support Catalina 10.15.

The latest client still shows an all black screen at launch. BUT if I blindly press the ESC key, the audio/graphics settings window will now display! Of course I can’t close the window and the log off button in the lower right does not work. Good steady progress CCP, well done.

Full public release of Catalina is about four weeks from now. I hope that you will clearly communicate with your subscribers when beta support for Catalina will be available so that they can make INFORMED DECISIONS about whether to upgrade to Catalina in the first place knowing that their favorite game is unplayable. Please don’t wait until after the public release of Catalina to then tell them that the client does not work.

Dang. I didn’t realize this incompatibility existed with the next OS. I’m glad you guys posted something, because otherwise I would have updated and had a game which no longer works in 64-bit, now being a game which is totally unplayable. The playability of EVE has been so much better over the last few years compared to when I first played the game circa 2006-2011. The recent degradation in game play with the last update is quite the disappointment.

1 Like

I just installed MacOS Catalina Developer Beta 9 (19A573a) up from Mojave, and now I cannot launch Eve : (