Mining wastage is a bad idea

This has to be the worst idea since NPC mining fleets in high-security space.
Don’t let this account fool you, I’ve been on EVE since it was a year old.
This new mechanic is NOT okay. And I still want to see the game free of NPC miners.

5 Likes

they doubled the amount of ore in belts, wastage is less than 50%…equals a net gain of ore. What is the problem?

8 Likes

‘I don’t care that we now in fact have more ore, it feels like less.’

9 Likes

I think that the whole waste concept is being misunderstood. To me, the original intent was very similar to the refining changes they made years ago.

In its initial design, you saw no net gain/loss with your basic skills. But if you increase your skills you can increase your maximum mineable volume.

With the live version, you gain loads of additional ore with T1 and T2 gets a little more ore while also getting an increase yield rate.

1 Like

When I started playing in 2005 there wasn’t any of this nonsense. What you mined is what you got. What you refined is what you got. They need to go back to the old systems and stop screwing with the game mechanics. It’s why I LEFT for 2 1/2 years.

1 Like

That was 17 years ago… Games that last long, have to evolve. EVE has to evolve and change if we want to see it go into it’s 3rd decade.

3 Likes

Can we at least agree that Mining Waistage is indeed a problem? The Orca being so dummy thicc is honestly kind if distracting.

4 Likes

WHY is it a problem? Everyone says it’s a problem, but not why. Even with wastage, we are getting more ore than we were before…that’s better, not worse.

6 Likes

I think it is still just a misunderstanding. A quick example with hypothetical numbers.

Lets say pre-waste, you had an asteroid of 1072m3 and you mined with a T1 miner at a rate of 75m3/cycle or a T2 miner at a rate of 100m3/cycle. You would collect 1072m3 of ore in 15 and 11 cycles respectively.