P2e Q&A

Since P2e is being more and more talked about lately in relation to EVE Online, and I have a question about it, I thought I’d open a Q&A thread to try and shed some light on it and have one source of info for it on this forum instead of several threads talking about the same thing.

Hopefully we can have a few members knowledgeable enough to answer members’ questions.

If CCP implemented P2e in EVE Online, would I be able to play the game normally while ignoring the P2e gimmick or would I be forced to participate in P2e if I want to continue playing?

I’m no expert on the topic, but as I see it, Play to Earn is a way to legalize RMT in a form which allows CCP to get part of the profits.

What does CCP want to accomplish with legalizing RMT? This surely will increase the incentives for players to partake in what currently is RMT with all the incredibly negative effects this has on the game:

• incentive to bot
  • incentive to hack other accounts

In addition play to earn players aren’t interested in playing a fun game, they’re here to earn their money. Where most of us (I assume) are in EVE to have fun and to play with other players who like having fun ingame, the game would become a lot less fun when the players I’m playing against are taking the game as serious as if it is a job rather than a game: players who aren’t interested in a fun experience.

Benefits of P2E:

• CCP earns cut of some RMT (at least, assuming the pricing is competitive enough with existing RMT in order to draw people to use P2E rather than 3rd party RMT)
  • people in rich countries can skip grinding by buying from legal RMT (which they already can with PLEX)
  • people in poor countries can earn some money grinding (new)

Downsides of P2E:

• more incentives for game-destructive practices like account hacking and botting as this now can be legally turned into real money
  • game becomes a job, if not for you it will be for your competitors