Pvp advice

Hey guys, happy new year to all of you! So…I’m fairly new to eve, I’ve been playing for a few months and I’m enjoying the game A LOT. I do mostly exploration and mining on my main character. Yesterday while watching some pvp I decided to try it for myself. So I made this character for pvp only. She’s a Caldari. You guys got any tips for pvp? Like best frigates and how to start doing some pvp?

1 Like

If you want to start off with some cheap t1 Frigates for PvP, Caldari have 2 great ships.

The first is the Merlin, a close range brawling blaster ship.

The Merlin is fairly cookie cutter. It’s a very solid brawling ship that relies on getting close and just unloading everything. Light Neutron Blasters are already one of the strongest Frigate weapons platform, and the Merlin gets a +5% bonus per Caldari Frigate skill level on top of it.

Your strategy is very simple. Burning towards your target, hit them with a Scram and Web, and then turn off your MWD and begin to orbit a 500m while shooting them until they die.

Here’s an MWD based fit:

[Merlin, *Generic Merlin - MWD]
Micro Auxiliary Power Core II
Magnetic Field Stabilizer II

5MN Y-T8 Compact Microwarpdrive
Medium Shield Extender II
Fleeting Compact Stasis Webifier
Faint Epsilon Scoped Warp Scrambler

Light Neutron Blaster II
Light Neutron Blaster II
Light Neutron Blaster II

Small Core Defense Field Extender I

Void S x240

And here’s an AB based fit:

[Merlin, *Generic Merlin]
Micro Auxiliary Power Core I

1MN Afterburner II
Warp Scrambler II

Light Neutron Blaster II
Light Neutron Blaster II
Light Neutron Blaster II

Void S x240

Up next is the Kestrel, the second T1 Frigate that Caldari have. I personally really enjoy the Kestrel.