Sarin Blackfist for CSM 17

Who am I?

My in-game name is Sarin Blackfist, but some in the EVE community might know me by another name without even realizing it. I have not exactly done a great job in separating my real life from my in-game persona. In fact, I’ve been downright terrible at it. My real name is Lee Yancy, and I write as a freelance journalist for Kotaku.com and over the years a few other sites as well. If you’re not familiar with me, you can check out some of my work here: Lee Yancy

I started writing about EVE almost as soon as I started playing EVE, after noticing that Crossing Zebras (https://crossingzebras.com/author/sarin/), an EVE blog that has since closed down, was looking for content writers. I was so enthralled with EVE, and looking for an outlet to talk about how crazy and amazing I thought the game was, that I jumped at the chance to share my experiences. My real life friends at the time were sick of hearing about it, so being given this outlet was a good thing for them, too.

Writing about EVE has given me opportunities that a lot of players normally wouldn’t get. Pretty much any alliance leader in the game is willing to talk to me about random things whenever I reach out, CCP and I are in constant communication about upcoming releases, and I’ve had the honor of breaking some pretty crazy news about EVE to the rest of the gaming world, seeing my words repeated, shared and spread across the world.

I don’t just write about EVE though, I am a director in KarmaFleet, one of the biggest corporations in the game, as well as an alliance director for the Goonswarm Federation, in charge of our squads and special interest groups. In both of those roles, I do my best to help players organize into like minded groups and help them get out into space and play the game.