Starting out doing missions, help please!

Hi im new to eve, on an omega account and liking it so far its interesting but very in depth.

I want to run some missions and have about 50mil ISK at the moment. Im galente and have training up to cruiser 1.

Was wondering what is a good ship to smash through lvl 1 and 2 missions?

2 Likes

Pretty much any destroyer can easily do L1 missions. You can do them in frigates, of course, but since destroyers can fit more weapons and have bonuses to range, they’re a good investment. Since you are Gallente, a Catalyst fit with railguns or an Algos with light drones will fit the bill.

For L2 missions, you might consider upgrading to a cruiser. Thorax if you want to use turrets, Vexor if you want to use drones. You will want to train light drones at the very least to deal with missions that have a lot of smaller ships, since larger guns sometime have a harder time applying damage to small, fast targets.

7 Likes

Like Quelza said, Vexor is my go to ship for Level 2s.

The problem im having at the moment is that my turrets cant turn fast enough for the small targets in the thorax, so take some drones as well ey?

3 Likes

There are a few things you can do. Essentially you want to minimize transversal by manually piloting your ship along a path as parallel to your target’s path as you can manage. Maintaining range helps to do this, but what this means is that your turrets don’t have to rotate all that much to track the target. If you’re just using the Orbit command in the middle of a swarm of frigates you might have problems. Since NPC AI is mostly stupid, you can often just choose to “Keep At Range”, or otherwise pilot your ship away from the bulk of the enemy, and your targets will just follow you in a line. Stasis webifiers help to slow down ships that get too close.