The sustainability of the New Eden cluster

With Upwell Consortium developing a new (and rather drastic) way of collecting minerals from moons, we as a civilisation must take a moment to consider the implications of this, are the mineral resources in the cluster at such a low level, that we now have to literaly take entire moons apart? ofcourse, moonmining as it is affectionaly called by us indepenent capsuleers, has been a part of immortal life in the outer regions for more then a decade, but not on a scale like this. Whats next? mining entire planets to sustain our way of life?

I ofcourse know that scaling back the consumtion of resourses of a civilisation of many trillions is for all intents and purposes impossible, so what is the next best idea? expansion.

I am not a expert on exploration, so correct me if i am wrong, but new eden does not exist in a intergalactic void or is it? so i wonder why the empires haven’t extended the stargate network to stars near the cluster. If only we had the ability to construct stargates.

Any others who have wondered about these kinds of issues?

4 Likes

We still have null security space, that Empires put their eyes on… or not yet. I guess when the Empires will decide to take control over that, they will start expanding into new territories and push eggers to “colonize” new worlds, as good CONCORD’s pets, just like modern nullsec alliances do.

1 Like

I wonder how a empire fleet will fare against a fleet of independent capsuleers if they where to invade null sec, might me a very interesting battle.

2 Likes