The "You will be terminated" message is scary to new players

Since I started playing EVE and my friend more recently, we always get spooked by the global message of someone hostile entering hisec space. “Random name, you have entered this space. Leave now or you will be terminated.” My friend got so spooked he docked right back in. Why cant CCP make this message more subtle to a passer by? Why a random venture pilot needs to be informed that someone will be terminated? And the message is so short, when quick reading it seems like you are the one about to be blown up.

edit: What the hell is going on here?!

4 Likes

Read slower?

Mr Epeen :sunglasses:

6 Likes

An even more scary thought: gankers will not announce their intentions before they warp to you and terminate you with extreme prejudice. :eyes:

:smiling_imp:

2 Likes

It’s true. But then again, it’s not a problem since I consider the ship I’m in space with lost until I dock. Sometimes I fly with the Overview hidden and no D-scan, through hisec or low. I usually don’t fly anything so expensive that I need to be on edge or even aware.

2 Likes

I agree that issuing the message to random people is a bit pointless…but they are not always random people. It is, for example, extremely useful in a fleet to know that one of the members has some violation and my get blapped if the fleet hangs about at a gate. There may be other such contexts too…so I’d imagine the system errs on the side of caution and notifies everyone. We don’t really need extra code slowing the system down trying to work out who ‘needs’ to know.

2 Likes

Then people will say it’s not forceful enough.

3 Likes