Weird game mechanics: 50 active clients for SP farming?

Hi,
I’m relatively new to Eve, so I want to properly understand some weird game logic.

The fact: I keep seeing a bunch of 50 active clients on my corp chat, sitting there 24\7, with almost the same name pattern and portrait! (nameaa, nameab, nameac,…, namebt, etc)

So, my first guess could be ‘SP farming’ or ‘massive mining’.

I wonder if this could even be a source of performance loss for the game either, since 50 clients are constantly consuming server ram.

Could some experienced player explain a bit this behavior? Is this perfectly legal?

Thanx

Yep, perfectly legal.
Also, 50 accounts is low SP farm … I heard about someone that had/has 237 accounts.

But they don’t need to be logged in to farm SP, so presumably they are doing something else as well. Mining is a relatively easy one once you get your SP farmers into mining barges, or market botting.

But chances are, a person is not controlling these 50 accounts logged in all by themselves (or if they are, mining must be as click-intensive for them as pvp for a normal player!)

He prolly uses them for monitoring certain systems/gates/stations, cloak camping etc … things that don’t really need controlling them.

2 Likes

When 50 pilots hurt server performance, what about the 20k+ online all the time? Should CCP ban them?

1 Like

One person with 50 active accounts is…sad.

1 Like

They more than likely do PI on all those alt’s that’s 40-50 bil extra on top of the small sp farm and any active thing like mining which I think will be really freeing hard with 50 accounts lol but tbh that’s more of a 2nd job than playing a game at that point.

Well, if having 50 clients open were so perfectly legal, I presume that a lot of people could do the same, then 20k online all the time means a lot of overhead.

Indeed. CCP should just take the people’s money and not let them log in.

1 Like