Whats it like to live under a HOA?

Hello Fellow EVEites, i guess this falls more on the american side of EVE.
So i have been wondering, i have a friend in Arizona that has a HOA that is damn near despotic and strange.
They fine for all sort if things that wouldn’t bother normal people, like the grass being slightly to tall or the trash bin being left out for to long.
But the thing i find most strange is that a plant can be three things at once, namely a weed,bush and tree.
Now i am no physics genious, but as far as i know objects can not be more than one thing at a time, feel free to correct me if i am wrong.

Now being swedish i have no experience of HOA, so i find it very strange to give rights to people that can judge if my lawn is to tall or if my trashcan has been standing at the curb for to long.
So my question i guess is, whats it like?.

Well from what I’ve read, you don’t give rights, you buy the property knowing there’s a HOA and thus you’re supposed to a) agree with the conditions and b) have a voice in changing them.

Seen from Spain, HOA look like a more formal version of what we call “neighbours community” which are the ones responsible for attending the collective needs of the neighbours, specially since most people here lives in condo type buildings. So people pays for things like cleaning and maintenance of shared spaces and installations (like the elevators). HOAs in America just look focused on keeping the property value by not allowing it to decay or look bad, and of course they impact a lot more houses than flats.

Here in Spain neighbours communities are a very diverse topic. Some people aspire to be chairman, others must be forced to be chairman, and many buildings just hand over the management to real state agents… some expensive poperties have what would be a HOA in the USA and some places buildings join associations who manage several properties, and some are fairly large.

Everyone here does what he wants in his own place.