Winning EVE - Quitting EVE - Au Revoir!

We only get a few rare occasions in life to come across something truly extraordinary, something that at first glance is seemingly mundane, like a simple game, but that over time proves to be something more than that. Something that taps into our inner being and allows us to express ourselves in ways we never thought possible. Something that over time leaves a mark on us and in doing so it transforms us into something more. Something that the French may call a certain… “je ne sais quoi”. I started playing EVE: Online just about three years ago just out of curiosity and it proved to be just that “je ne sais quoi”.

My adventure into EVE: Online started when I accidentally came across an online advertisement telling me about this “Free Online Spaceship Game”. I’ve always been a sci-fi fan, holding close at heart writings like Isaac Asimov’s “The Foundation”, H.G. Wells “The Time Machine” and basically all of Jules Verne’s sci-fi writings, but also cinema works like “2001: A space Odyssey”, “Star Trek”, “Stargate”, “Star Wars”, “The Matrix” and many others. I’ve also played genre oriented games in the past and I fondly remember completing “Homeworld”, “Nexus: The Jupiter Incident” (old one, but I highly recommend it, especially to CCP devs), and “Hegemonia: Legions of Iron”. So when I was presented with the possibility to play a free space-game, alongside other players, I didn’t hesitate. I locked on and pulled the trigger.