[YC 123 NEWCWC] Evolving Understandings of God and the Apostasy Fallacy

The below work is hereby submitted as an entry to the YC 123 New Eden Capsuleers’ Writing Contest, under category #3.

Evolving Understandings of God and the Apostasy Fallacy

I: Introduction, Musings of a New Capsuleer, and the Apostasy Problem
It has been only five months since I graduated from the Royal Amarr Institute and began a new stage in my life as a fully-fledged capsuleer. Despite making up only a short period of the twenty-eight years during which I’ve had the honour of living in God’s graces, I’ve found that these past four months have been more insightful, enlightening, and yet also more challenging than I could have possibly imagined. Indeed, during my very first day as a qualified capsuleer I connected to ‘The Summit’ channel on my Neocom and, within no less than twenty minutes, I encountered heretical propaganda besmirching both the Empire and God’s very name. Of course, in the case of those that have not yet truly discovered God in their hearts and minds, it is all but inevitable that they will, one day, come to embrace him with open arms, bringing them into the Empire as loyal servants of a greater cause; it is merely a case of waiting for them to be ready for that day within their own hearts. Quickly, I realised that if I were to be a good servant of God, and indeed the Empire, in my life as a capsuleer, then I would need to find ways of tolerating these unfortunately misguided individuals in a way that would still leave open the door for them to one day be reclaimed. What I have struggled far more considerably with in these past four months, however, are those on the other side of the spectrum. Those that have already come to know God, and yet have consciously chosen to reject his Empire and thus, by extension, the Lord himself. The individuals we know as apostates.