Manumission of Slaves

It still bothers me, as I remarked more than TWO YEARS AGO here:

Why is there still no legal way to free my slaves? The very idea of owning slaves is morally abhorrent to me, but i can’t allow myself to leave free human beings to suffocate in a container if i come across them in space. Anyone who “owns” slaves ought to have the option to release them, even if it means smuggling them to a friendly (minmatar?) station and paying to provide for their well-being. Is there no way for a wannabe freedom fighter like myself (and there’s certainly others!) to safely, legally, and permanently emancipate a slave?

5 Likes

I am not an expert of laws of Amarr Empire, but as far as I understand it, only Ministry of Internal Affairs has authority to actually free a slave, because they shall serve “nine generations” (or is it eight now?) to the Empire as punishment for their crimes against the Empire, and just as you cannot personally release a sentenced criminal if he works on your factory in a jail without the court permission, in the same way you cannot yourself release a slave without permission of Imperial judical organization.

That there is no legal way to do this, just confirms that CONCORD prohibits illegal activities and bans freedom fighters for causing damage.

As for me, I can only add that being a freedom fighter is not just illegal, but any sort of freedom cultism is outright inhumane and amoral.

This interpretation of what Jamyl did is so backwards that I have to think it took you the full decade to think of it. The only thing about the ‘ninth generation’ was as it pertained to slaves at that moment, and only those slaves who didn’t have any more recent enslavements in their ancestry.

And no, any Holder can free their slaves. Also, Ministry of Internal Order… which is the secret police, not the Department of Slave Administration.