Jinx De'Caire for CSM 17

My EVE Online story.

I had been interested in Eve for years before I really dove in. In 2013, I was following Eve news when I heard of the Battle of Asakai and the forming of Brave Newbies. I submitted my app to Brave Newbies a couple weeks after it was formed, and subbed for the first time. It was a blast! I joined just before the move from Hek to Rahadalon. I spent most of my time mining or in standing fleet, chasing people. I remember mining Arkonor in a wormhole, and all the newbies were giddy with excitement. Then someone brought a hauler in, causing the wormhole to close behind us. A short dive quickly became an adventure, with n0rman, now a brave legend, scanning us a way out. Itā€™s stories like this that keep me logging into Eve. After a few months though, life came at me in a big way. I left all my stuff to a friend in Brave, and watched from afar as Brave grew exponentially.

In 2017, I started playing again after watching The Expanse ā€” and came back to Brave when it was settling back into Catch 2.0. Brave had gone through a lot during my time away. I really wanted to help recapture that feeling I had experienced during the first months of Brave, of everyone helping each other, and I found that through the Brave Dojo. I felt that getting more new players into Eve, and into the fight, was just as satisfying as jumping in fleet myself. It was through this space job for the community that Eve really stuck for me. A year later, I became head of the Dojo, and have worked towards supporting Newbies in and out of Brave. I believe bringing in new blood and helping them understand the initial hurdles of the game makes Brave and Eve Stronger. Iā€™m now a director and leader of the largest corp in the brave collective, Brave Newbies, Inc. In my spare time - I help run the highsec corp in Brave ,Brave Empire, as well. In the past, I also ran Braveā€™s free blueprint program, which has helped countless industrialists get started.